The elements of journalism

According to The Elements of Journalism, a book by Bill Kovach and Tom Rosenstiel, there are nine elements of journalism [1]. In order for a journalist to fulfill their duty of providing the people with the information they need to be free and self-governing. They must follow these guidelines:

1. Journalism’s first obligation is to the truth.
2. Its first loyalty is to the citizens.
3. Its essence is discipline of verification.
4. Its practitioners must maintain an independence from those they cover.
5. It must serve as an independent monitor of power.
6. It must provide a forum for public criticism and compromise.
7. It must strive to make the significant interesting, and relevant.
8. It must keep the news comprehensive and proportional.
9. Its practitioners must be allowed to exercise their personal conscience.

In the April 2007 edition of the book [2], they have added one additional element, the rights and responsibilities of citizens to make it a total of ten elements of journalism.

Wikipedia

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

10 thoughts on “The elements of journalism

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?

    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users
    would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Cheers!

  2. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    and checking back frequently!

  3. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours as of late, yet I never discovered any interesting article like yours. It’s lovely worth
    sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made excellent
    content material as you probably did, the web can be much more helpful than ever before.

  4. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your
    website? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from some
    of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thank you!

  5. Often they come to me physically and emotionally exhausted.
    Spice up your romantic life with these sexy Android apps.
    Let’s start your exploration with a beautiful parable
    I use in the Toxic Relationships Self-help Kit: Love them, but LEAVE them.

Tinggalkan Balasan

